Opportunity Zones

Opportunity zones, which were created as part of the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017, are federally designated areas in economically distressed communities where significant new tax incentives are available to qualified investors. In the southwest Oklahoma region, there are four opportunity zones as shown below.

Opportunity zones represent an extremely powerful tool for local economic development. The primary objective of the Opportunity zones initiative is to promote holistic, inclusive economic development that brings communities out of distress and lays a stable foundation for continued long-term growth.