SWODA honors Representative Frank Lucas with Congressional Partnership Award

posted Apr 15, 2014, 2:07 PM by Mary Peck

By Mary Peck, SWODA Business Development and Marketing Associate

(Burns Flat, OK—April 16, 2014) Representative Frank Lucas (R-OK) received the 2014 NADO Congressional Partnership Award for his leadership on the 2014 Farm Bill. National Association of Developmental Organizations (NADO) presented Lucas the honor during the recent Washington Policy Conference held in Washington, D.C. The biennial award recognizes legislators exhibiting outstanding leadership and support of federal regional development programs, as well as supporting the work of regional development organizations at the local level.

Debora Glasgow, executive director for the South Western Oklahoma Development Authority (SWODA), along with Michael Ryburn, SWODA business development and finance director, and Mike Brown, NADO board member and SWODA board president, officially awarded Lucas the honor on their visit to Capitol Hill. Mike Brown, Weatherford mayor, joined NADO Board of Directors from the Southwest Region through a special election held in February.

For more than two years, the Farm Bill was Lucas’ top priority. The bill contains several rural development provisions supported by NADO. The bill supports investments in the rural economy through grants, loans and loan guarantees with an emphasis on essential infrastructure, small business development, job creation and growth. The bill also allows USDA to reserve 10 percent of certain programs for regional, long-term investments to better economic development through regional planning and leveraging of resources.

The president signed the Farm Bill into law on Feb. 7, 2014. On that day, Jen Russell, AgWeb.com managing editor, quoted Lucas as saying, “The amazing reality about farm bills is that they reflect the times in which we live. They are reviewed, written, debated and reauthorized nearly every five years. Today our concerns are rightly placed on reducing the size and cost of the federal government.

Lucas is currently serves on the House Financial Services Committee , the House Science and Technology Committee and as the chairman of the House Agriculture Committee.

The SWODA region is eight counties in rural Oklahoma—Beckham, Custer, Greer, Harmon, Jackson, Kiowa, Roger Mills and Washita—covering over 7,000 square miles and approximately 110,000 residents. For more information about SWODA services, contact us at (580) 562-4882 on the web at swoda.org.



One Photo

Caption: SWODA-PR_20140416_lucas_partner_award.jpg

Representative Frank Lucas receives the NADO Congressional Partnership Award for his leadership on the 2014 Farm Bill during the Washington Policy Conference in Washington, D.C. Presenting the award on Capital Hill are, from left,  Michael Ryburn, SWODA; Debora Glasgow, SWODA; Rep. Lucas; Mike Brownphoto, NADO board member and SWODA board president.

Mary Peck,
Apr 15, 2014, 2:07 PM